SCAD's Cutts, Hannon named NWLL POY, COY

SCAD's Cutts, Hannon named NWLL POY, COY

ROME – SCAD-Savannah freshman attack Charlotte Cutts is the 2012 National Women’s Lacrosse League Player of the Year and SCAD-Savannah head coach Nichole Hannon is the league’s 2012 Coach of the Year league officials announced at the organization’s annual awards banquet on Thursday night.

The recognition of Cutts and Hannon to the league’s highest honors marks the first time in NWLL history that a team has swept those awards. The pair helped lead the Bees to their first NWLL Tournament championship last Saturday.

Cutts, who hails from Easton, Md., ranked fourth in the NWLL in conference play with 47 total points while ranking fifth in the league with 37 goals. She finished the year with 84 total points courtesy of 62 goals and 22 assists.

In her first year with SCAD-Savannah, Hannon guided the Bees to a 15-4 overall record and 9-1 mark in the NWLL. SCAD-Savannah earned the No. 2 seed in the NWLL Tournament and won the championship with an 18-17 triple overtime upset of top-seed and defending champion Indiana Tech.

Cutts highlighted the 12 members of the All-NWLL first team that were honored on Thursday night.

Joining Cutts on the first team were attackers Katie Ott of Shorter and Tess Sasse of Tennessee Wesleyan; midfielders Hannah Brogger of Aquinas, Emily Collins of Reinhardt, Kayla Nelson of SCAD-Savannah, Kendall Guthrie of Indiana Tech and Vanessa Kretzler of Missouri Baptist; defenders Desiree Watson-Isom of Shorter, Morgen Filla of Missouri Baptist and Shaina Levin of SCAD-Savannah; and goalie Jenny Danko of SCAD-Savannah.

Second team honorees included attackers Autumn McMillin of Indiana Tech, Kati Rogers of Aquinas and Whitney Dixe of Shorter; midfielders Mia Wiggins of Shorter, Avery Armstrong of Shorter, Michelle Scannell of Tennessee Wesleyan, Britney Lukowski of SCAD-Savannah and Liza Flewelling of Aquinas; defenders Kayla Bell of Shorter, Gabriela Loera of Robert Morris and Sophie Spivack of SCAD-Savannah; and goalie Jaybriel Guyton of Reinhardt.

You can view the complete list of honorees, including honorable mention and All-Tournament, by clicking here.