NWLL announces addition of three new members

NWLL announces addition of three new members

ROME -- The National Women's Lacrosse League announced the addition of three new members on Tuesday, each of which will begin competition in the conference in the 2012 season.

Davenport University and Siena Heights University out of Michigan and Savannah College of Art and Design out of Georgia have accepted invitations to join the NWLL, which just completed its first season of competition.

Davenport, Siena Heights and SCAD will join charter members Indiana Institute of Technology, Missouri Baptist University, Reinhardt University, Robert Morris University, Shorter University and Tennesee Wesleyan College to push the membership total to nine schools.

"We are extremely pleased to announce the expansion of the National Women's Lacrosse League," said NWLL commissioner Matt Green. "Davenport, Siena Heights and SCAD each produced exceptional applications for membership and throughout the entire process, displayed tremendous excitement about the prospect of joining the NWLL. We had a very successful inaugural season and look forward to another terrific year in 2012 with the addition of our new programs."

Green pointed out that several changes to the landscape of the league are on the immediate horizon, including a possible split into two divisions and an expanded conference tournament.

Indiana Tech won the inaugural NWLL championship by beating Tennessee Wesleyan in the championship game.